Picasso: The Monograph 1881-1973

Marie-Laure Bernadac, Brigitte Léal, Christine Piot


In this book three recognised authorities on the life and work of Picasso conduct a profound study of the artistic career and personal itinerary of one of the great geniuses of the 20th century. The book consists of twelve chapters divided into three periods (1881-1916; 1917-1952; 1953-1973).

Modern Art, Monograph
At first, 1881-1916, Brigitte Léal describes and analyses Picasso’s life and oeuvre from his initial experiences and formative years to his move to Paris in 1901, where he would start his Cubist experiments. In the second period, 1917-1952, Christine Piot continues the narrative of events and analysis to the artist’s output, as well as describing those events which most influenced his constant evolution. Finally, the third period, between 1953 and 1973, is described along the same lines as the previous two by Marie-Laure Bernadac.

Marie-Laure Bernadac is an Honorary General Curator. Author of several books on Picasso, Louise Bourgeois and Annette Messager.
Brigitte Léal is a French museum curator. She is a specialist in cubism, she has curated several exhibitions and wrote several art books.

544 pages, 1235 illustrations
Paperback with jacket, 19x21.6 cm
Spanish, English
Polígrafa, 1st edition 2019
ISBN 9788434310919